Provincial Engineering Department

Office of Deputy Chief Secretary (Engineering) was established in 1996 at the provincial Education Department premises. The office staff comprised with deputy chief secretary (Engineering), two Civil Engineers, one technical officer, one draftsperson, one clerk and an office helper with a driver.
The office of Deputy Chief Secretary (Engineering) was responsible for civil construction works which comes under provincial Health Department and all other provincial Departments excluding Department of Education.
Provincial Engineering Department was established in 1999 by combining the office of Deputy Chief Secretary (Engineering), provincial irrigation Department and School works branch of provincial education department. The Head office was at Maitripala  Senanayaka Mawatha, Anuradhapura. The Organization has eight Divisional officers, six in, Anuradhapura while two were in polonnaruwa district. The provincial Engineering Department was responsible for all building construction works and irrigation rehabilitation work which come under provincial council Administration.